Some Good Stuff Coming

schrift 2_whiteBGI have some really great things coming up. I have some events and interviews that I am so excited about. The first event will be my book fair called; Sherri’s Second Blog Book Fair; Sunday April 28, 2013 at 11:00am to 5:00pm. It is so exciting to have another book fair. I am going to make it very interactive this time. I have some wonderful authors taking part in my book fair. As we get closer I will let you know who will be taking part in my events such as a raffle, an e-book autograph hour and a Q & A hour for any author who would like to take part. So cool, I can’t wait! http://www.facebook.com/events/428552560569327/
Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000030_00040]
authorphoto (2)This Tuesday we will have another amazing author Jeff Gunhus and his new  book; Jack Templar and the Monster Hunter Academy. After barely surviving the onslaught of monsters that tried to kill him the day before his fourteenth birthday, Jack Templar leaves his hometown on a quest to rescue his father and discover the truth about his past. I am really looking forward to talking to him! http://www.blogtalkradio.com/rithebard/2013/04/23/chatting-with-sherri

51Ph+ERcH1L._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_SX240_SY320_CR,0,0,240,320_SH20_OU01_I had lovely chat with Cheryl E. Hill who is a retired librarian, she wrote a children’s book called R is for Reading Books. It is an ABC picture book to teach children how to read by familiarizing them with the letters of the alphabet corresponding with names of favorite children’s books. http://www.blogtalkradio.com/rithebard/2013/04/16/chatting-with-sherri  , here is a direct link where you can view right now: New Today: “R Is For Reading Books” by Cheryl Hill.
Here is a direct link if you’re interested in viewing;
http://traffic.libsyn.com/storycub/R_Is_For_Reading_Books.m4v

 

 

 

MV5BMTA4OTc1NzYxMTheQTJeQWpwZ15BbWU3MDQ3NTY5MjE@._V1._SX148_CR0,0,148,200_

I have MV5BMTQzMzA5MzAyNV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMzkxOTIzMQ@@._V1_SY317_CR51,0,214,317_to tell you I had such a fun time with Producer/Writer Paul Jackson we an animated talk  about how to write for TV  and his experiences in writing for the medium. I hope you enjoy listening to it as much as I enjoyed  chatting with him live. He is best known for such shows as Sliders, Lois & Clark and Briscoe County Jr. but he has some really exciting projects coming up, one of them with Stan Lee for an animated film. Sounds really exciting, listen in;  http://tobtr.com/s/4530737.http://www.blogtalkradio.com/rithebard/2013/04/09/chatting-with-sherri

author

I do have a yahoo group for fans and followers of Chatting with Sherri. I will do updates and on the site. Please join in the fun! http://groups.yahoo.com/group/chattingwithsherri/?yguid=64414577

 

 

 

 

This week I have an author interview with: BERNADETTE WALSH who has published four novels to date (The House on Prospect droppedImage(Echelon Press) and Gold Coast Wives (Lyrical Press)) and the first two books of her paranormal series, Devil’s Mountain — Book One of the Devlin Legacy and Devil’s Shore — Book Two of the Devlin Legacy. Here is what she had to say;

What was the first book you remember loving? Do you still own it?

I was an avid reader as a child and there were sooo many books I loved. The Nancy Drew series and the Anne of Green Gables books were favorites when I was young. As I got older I loved Jane Eyre — I must’ve read it at least twenty times — and don’t get me started on Wuthering Heights.  I think from a young age I was attracted to stories about strong young girls. Now as a writer, I write about strong women.

My parents moved to Florida when I was in my twenties and living in a tiny apartment in Manhattan, so all of my childhood books were thrown out. But I just downloaded all of the Anne of Green Gables books and am looking forward to catching up with these old friends.

 What kind of books do you like to read? Do those books have an effect on your own writing?

I read everything it feels like. I probably read more books with female rather than male protagonists. I loved books by women Irish writers. If I could write like anyone it would be the Irish writer Claire Keegan–her short stories are so lyrical they are almost like poetry. I read Gone Girl recently which I enjoyed. I love Tana French, although I usually don’t like crime fiction, but her stories have so much depth I feel they go beyond the genre. I also like the Sookie Stackhouse books for when I need a paranormal fix.

When I’m writing fiction I tend to avoid reading fiction because I find it interferes with my “voice”.  I tend to read kind of nutty non-fiction like How to Spot a Sociopath and books about fundamentalist Morman sects — not that I’m proud of it 🙂

Do you remember what is the first book that touched you deeply?

I remember reading Gone With the Wind in the seventh grade and becoming completely obsessed with it.

Is there an era of writing that affects you? 1920, 1800’s so forth?

I can’t think of any.

Where do you like to write? Is there a favorite nook or corner?

I write anywhere where I have five minutes to spare. So that means on the Long Island Rail Road, my daughter’s dance class, in the early morning before the family wakes up. I can block out just about any sound, so I don’t need a “special place.”

Do you prefer one genre to another?

Devil_s-Daughter-mockup-1 (2)I prefer to write stories with strong female protagonists. That has led me to write humorous contemporary romances, family sagas and a four book paranormal romance series about a family of Irish witches (The Devlin Legacy books). While I’ve hopped around genres my books are basically about women dealing with whatever life throws at them the best way they can.

  Do you like the feel of a book in your hands or do prefer an electronic devises?

I’m a complete convert to e-readers and have three!

Can you tell us about what your working on now?

After finishing the fourth book in The Devlin Legacy series, I am taking a break from paranormal. I have started Cold Spring, a The Devlin Witch final 300dpi (2)family saga about an Irish-American family on Long Island–write what you know, right!

Bernadette is also the host of NICE GIRLS READING NAUGHTY BOOKS on blogtalkradio where she discusses romance novels with reader, writers and members of the publishing industry. http://www.blogtalkradio.comDevil_s-Shore-mockup-3 (2)/bernadettewalsh
Devil’s Mountain (Devlin Legacy #1)  is available at;
Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Devils-Mountain-Devlin-Legacy-ebook/dp/B008BGICYG

B&N http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/devils-mountain-bernadette-walsh/1109558411

iTunes http://itunes.apple.com/us/book/devils-mountain/id535770891?mt=11

All Romance eBooks http://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-devil039smountain-832980-140.html

Till Next Time…

1 Comment

Filed under blog book fair, blog Tour, blogs, blogtalk radio, creative, entertainment, screenwriting, tv, Uncategorized, writing

One response to “Some Good Stuff Coming

  1. Hello Cheryl! I found your blog on LinkedIn. Please visit my blog and click “Like” or leave a comment if you enjoy my post. I appreciate the support.

    Thank you,

    Vashti Q

Leave a Reply

