Chatting on…

Cover 200x300 (2)This week I spoke to Will Merrill about 9/11 called “Ordinary People: Extraordinary Heroes;” It really touched me as I heard the stories that Will told about the after effects of that violent act against 200x300 (2)innocent people. It was the most serious and important of the interviews I have had so far. I have had a lot of fun talking to my guests about their projects and I think they have enjoyed it too. This was the first time I was so touched by the subject.  I enjoyed talking to Will who is a kind and gentle man. He also talks about this with passion and a great need to communicate what happened to real people during a horrible time and the affect on them both emotionally and physically. I was choked up a couple of times during the interview, It was fascinating, compelling and full of important information. Please listen to the interview; http://www.blogtalkradio.com/rithebard/2012/12/11/chatting-with-sherri It is a very important one. Below are the links for his book;

Amazon’s site; http://amzn.to/S5Es42

Ipad; http://bit.ly/S5EMjv

Barnes and Noble;http://bit.ly/STy3Hy
IP_-_Final_copySpeaking of heroes I need to let you all know about this;  FREE ebooks to U.S. Military members. Throughout the month of December, authors Gary Williams and Vicky Wood Knerly are opening up their library of e-books FREE to all Wounded Warriors, active duty and retired U.S. military personnel. It is their way of saying “Thank You!” for your commitment, service and the sacrifices that you have made for your country. Click on the link below and feel free to share this free offer with family and friends so that we can get the word out to our military serving both at home and abroad. Happy Holidays! http://www.williamsknerly.com/Default.aspx   
41ba7da122e90ac1d188ba.L._V401949537_SX200_Next week I will have the lovely Bette Stevens about her book about her wonderful children’s booka new AMAZING MATILDA Cover(Thumbl) 200x260 (2) Amazing Matilda; A Monarch’s tale. An inspirational tale of a Monarch butterfly and her meadowland friends. She is a lovely and talented lady so I am really looking forward to chatting with her.
Last week I took part in a blog tour for my book, Fantasy Time Inc. https://rithebard.wordpress.com/2012/12/06/sp314400_247662608624899_1376127242_necial-11746930blog-book-tour-edition/. Two of my writing buddies Sarah Baethge; http://sarahbaethge.blogspot.com/2012/12/big-book-blog-tour-speed-of-darkness.html  and Gabe Beyers; http://www.gabrielbeyers.blogspot.com/ did the blog tour this week.  I can’t tell you how much I love new and exciting ways to promote our books. In a world that is media driven it is
surprisingly hard to get the word out and sell your books. This was a great way to do it. So I want to thank Tracy Kaufman;    http://tracykauffman.blogspot.com  for inviting me to take part in this exciting adventure!
My next exciting adventure I am doing all on my own. I am going to have an on-line Blog Book Fair on Christmas Day. I thought it pic with bookwould be a unique way to showcase not only my two books but other authors that have become friends through interviewing and social media.  I will have raffles for free books through out the day. Please check the top of the page for those books on Dec. 25th. So come and browse all the authors that will be featured and buy a nice late present for the holidays. Or a little something for yourself!   https://rithebard.wordpress.com/
11985168My latest review of a new book is Get Real! Fighting the Mythic Woman Finding Your Authentic Self
by Ananya S. Rajan on Goodreads can be found at;  http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/363720317 . I really enjoyed this book very much and learned a lot from it.
My writer interview this week is with M.M. Frye, Please give her a gentle welcome;

 What was the first book you remember loving? Do you still own it?Missy-Promo-Shot-200x (2)

The Large and Growly Bear and yes I do still own it.

 What kind of books do you like to read? Do those books have an affect on your own writing?

I like all genres. I tend to get tired of trends and like to mix things up. I’m not sure if they affect my writing. When I write, I’m not thinking of anything but the story.

 Do you remember what is the first book that touched you deeply?

The book was called Alabama Moon and it was part of the Harlequin for teens back in early 80s. I can’t remember the author’s name and really don’t remember much about the story, but I can still recall how it made me feel.

 Is there an era of writing that affects you? 1920, 1800’s so forth?

I like historical books more than contemporary, though I read both. As to a favorite era, I’m not sure. If the story is good, I don’t think I really mind what era the setting is. I like the WWII era because there are so many factors that can contribute to stories. I like to get emotional punches while I’m reading.

 Where do you like to write? Is there a favorite nook or corner?

I have to be at my desk to write. When I sit in front of my computer, it triggers something in my brian that says it’s time to work. I’ve never had a laptop though. If I did, I might find another place to let my creativity flow.

Do you prefer one genre to another?

I like fantasy and sci-fi and tend to steer away from formulaic romance. Don’t get me wrong I like romance, but prefer it to be a subplot. I’ve read more books in the young adult genre this year than anything else, but my favorite books range from Christian fiction to literary fiction.

Do you like the feel of a book in your hands or do prefer an electronic devises?

I like holding a book in my hands and the feel of the paper as I turn the pages. I’ve read using electronic devices, but nothing beats a real book.

 Can you tell us about what your working on now?

I’m currently working on the second draft of a women’s fiction novel. It’s called The Widows of Wyatt Abney. “Yancy and Beth lost a great love when Wyatt Abney died. When they meet again twenty-five years later they throw their families into turmoil and along the way discover whether they’ve truly moved on or merely moved forward.”

Her website address is; www.melissamfrye.com
Till next time…
Leave a comment

Filed under blog book fair, blog Tour, blogtalk radio, creative, entertainment, military, Uncategorized, writing

Leave a Reply

