Insight into the mind of a reader

This week what I have to talk about is how the image can sometimes overwhelm the word.  Anyone who knows me and listens to my show knows that I adore Harry Potter. Recently I watched an interview with the brilliant J. K. Rowling, (one of my modern writing idols along with Dan Brown:) It inspired me to re-read the Harry Potter Series as a whole. So I picked up the first book, “Harry Potter and The Sorcerer’s Stone” and began to read it again for the first time in many years. I love it so much but do you know what I noticed? I noticed that my memory of the book is not as sharp as I thought it was. I realized that I replaced parts of the book with the movie. This shocked me, because though I am a very visual person I take pride in being a person with an excellent memory especially for things I love, like the Harry Potter series.  I expected to catch foreshadowing of the books that were to follow but what I didn’t expect was that favorite scenes of the book had been slightly altered by the memory of the movie. Does that shock anyone else? I asked around and I was startled that friends and family that I questioned on this had the same experience.

The people I asked were all readers and huge fans of Harry Potter. Does it not strike you as odd, that the movie should actually change the visual concept in your imagination? I don’t think it is odd that I changed my visual conception of the characters features by the actors in the movie but I do when it comes to plot and who is in a scene. I don’t want to give away the book to people who read my blog who may not (for what ever reason) have not read the Harry Potter books and had only seen the movies. I do challenges those people to pick up the first book and read the chapters and see if you can see what I am referring too. I think it is truly fascinating that seeing an image can wipe out the scenes that you read. What a concept!

 

 

This week I chatted with the fascinating Will Smith I, (Proud Papa of the Oscar nominated actor), and the utterly charming musician Tony Smith who have written a wonderful novel that’s entitled “The Waymor”. “It is a jazz club where you just might get way more than you bargained for!” They talk about the road to their book and how they are on the road to make it into a movie. http://www.blogtalkradio.com/rithebard/2012/11/20/chatting-with-sherri

For more informations on Will Smith I and Tony Smith and their book The Waymor;

The websites are:  www.thewaymor.com
and for any media reqs; www.reedpiconsulting.com

Coming up on Chatting With Sherri, author Greg Kuhn discusses his new book; “Why Quantum Physicists Don’t Get Fat” and how American’s weight gain is not a result of lack of will power, a lack of desire, nor a lack of resolve. This spiraling weight gain is the result of old, inaccurate science. http://www.blogtalkradio.com/rithebard/2012/11/27/chatting-with-sherri

 

 

 

 

For this weeks author interview I would like to introduce the lovely and talented, Mitzi Szereto who will give us a bit ins on her writing and how what she loves to read; Welcome Mitzi;

What was the first book you remember loving? Do you still own it?
I can’t remember one book specifically (therefore I must not still own it!), but I will say that I was a voracious reader of Gothic mysteries/romances in my formative years. I couldn’t get enough of them. My mother and I would buy everything that came out and consume them like candy. I think that whole Gothic thing really stuck with me, because it has crept into some of my work, most recently my anthology Red Velvet and Absinthe: Paranormal Erotic Romance.

What kind of books do you like to read? Do those books have an effect on your own writing?
I read all over the sphere and enjoy discovering writers I’ve not heard of and also reading several of a particular writer’s books whose work I already know. For instance, I’ve read a slew of novels by Ruth Rendell, Dean Koontz, T.C. Boyle, Margaret Atwell and Toni Morrison—all of whom are very different from each other. I especially enjoy psychological thrillers and have been reading a lot of mystery and crime novels in the last year as well, though I’m not a fan of the hard-boiled detective type novel. I imagine what I read has had an effect on my work to some level, as I’ve always been a firm believer in the old adage that you need to be a good reader in order to be a good writer. However, any effects on my own writing are likely of a more subtle nature than anything particularly overt.

Do you remember what is the first book that touched you deeply?
There was a book that a female classmate of mine was reading in elementary school—it might have been in fifth grade. I can’t for the life of me recall the title, and no, it was not a book for kids or young adults. It was about a schoolgirl whose parents died and she took over running the household in the role of an adult, looking after her siblings and living mostly off what was grown in their garden. It took place in a rather isolated setting, with the character having as little to do with outsiders as possible. I was quite taken with the novel and how the character was totally self-sufficient and didn’t need to rely on others or feel any need to engage with outsiders. I’m not sure what that says about me, but that whole concept really appealed to me even at the young age I was when I’d read the book. Perhaps I found such a scenario far preferable to being at school!

Is there an era of writing that affects you? 1920, 1800’s so forth?
I like to read works from many eras, though I do draw the line at extremely dense styles of writing. I’ve enjoyed a lot of books from the early part of the Twentieth Century, especially Upton Sinclair’s The Jungle and Theodore Dreiser’s An American Tragedy. I love being drawn back into another time and learning about the way life was. I’m not a history fan by any means, but you can learn a lot about history and life from fiction. As a general rule, I’m probably more so a reader of contemporary works. I live in the contemporary, and I tend to write in contemporary settings. Having said that, I’m doing more and more work in historical settings, such as my Pride and Prejudice: Hidden Lusts as well as a couple of other novels I have in the works. It’s always good to stretch yourself as a writer rather than doing the exact same thing again and again.

Where do you like to write? Is there a favorite nook or corner?
I’m usually sitting on the sofa with my laptop in my lap. I hardly ever use a desktop PC anymore except when I need to print something out. It’s more a matter of having things to hand rather than any specific nook or corner. It seems that no matter where I go or where I live, I still end up with the same writing arrangement!

Do you prefer one genre to another?
It’s all down to what I’m in the mood for, really. As I mentioned, psychological thrillers are and always have been a favorite, though I’m not one to turn down a good legal thriller, or, for that matter, a spooky paranormal novel. I also enjoy ethnic fiction, particularly novels by Indian and Middle Eastern writers.

Do you like the feel of a book in your hands or do prefer an electronic devices?
Although I’m all for the e-readers such as Kindle and Nook, I tend to read physical books. I spend so much time staring at a computer screen that I just don’t fancy reading books on its equivalent. Having said that, I’m considering buying a Kindle at some point!

Can you tell us about what you’re working on now?
I’ve been very busy promoting my current book Thrones of Desire: Erotic Tales of Swords, Mist and Fire, which has cut into my writing time somewhat. However, after I get the Miami Book Fair out of the way, I plan to get cracking on some heavy-duty writing! I’ve got a number of projects in the works at the moment, such as a Gothic-themed anthology entitled Darker Edge of Desire. Writers interested in submitting material can find out more at http://mitziszereto.com/call-for-submissions/. I also have another anthology that I’ll be putting word out on very shortly, which will be skirting the horror genre. In addition, I’m writing a novel that’s a sequel to a classic work of literature and which also has Gothic themes in it. Once that’s finished, I plan to get started with my co-author bear Teddy Tedaloo (https://www.facebook.com/teddytedaloo.fanpage) on the second installment in The Thelonious T. Bear Chronicles quirky crime/cozy mystery series, the first—Normal for Norfolk (The Thelonious T. Bear Chronicles)–having been published this past summer. And I’d better not forget that I have another novel I’ve been working on with a fellow author. If we can ever get our writing schedules to coincide, we might actually finish the damned thing!

Mitzi Szereto website: http://mitziszereto.com
Mitzi Szereto on Twitter: https://twitter.com/mitziszereto
Mitzi Szereto Facebook fan page: https://www.facebook.com/mitziszereto.fanpage
Errant Ramblings: Mitzi Szereto’s Weblog: http://mitziszereto.com/blog

Mitzi TV: http://mitziszereto.com/tv

Thrones of Desire: Erotic Tales of Swords, Mist and Fire: http://mitziszereto.com/thronesofdesire/

Normal for Norfolk (The Thelonious T. Bear Chronicles): http://mitziszereto.com/normalfornorfolk/
Mitzi Szereto Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/72445.Mitzi_Szereto

Mitzi Szereto Google+ official page: https://plus.google.com/b/105002950509883985630/105002950509883985630/posts

Mitzi Szereto MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/mitzi_szereto

Leave a comment

Filed under creative, entertainment, movies, screenwriting, writing

Leave a Reply

