Saying Yes to The Adventure

This week, I find myself as a writer drawn back to my short stories. I think I have gone a bit mad with all the work I am doing I started to write a fan fiction story. You have to go where the flow dictates, but I do blame The History Channel and my over active imagination. I am about half way done with it and then I will go back to my books. So Crazy!

I am having such a good time with Chatting with Sherri, but I am a bit overwhelmed too. I produce, schedule, write and host the show. It is a lot more than I thought it would be. Especially the scheduling, I am a one woman production team. My super kitty, Xena was helping me but she got bored yawned and walked to go sit on the back of my couch and look out the window. It’s much more interesting to her. Silly cat, I have never done anything more challenging and rewarding then this. To borrow something from Jeff Probst, I am saying yes to the adventure :).

I had such a fun time being interviewed by fellow writer B. C. Brown http://bcbrownbooks.blogspot.com/2012/08/sherri-rabinowitz.html?zx=ccd7e3efcfefa1f5  that I thought it would be great to have her on my show Chatting with Sherri. This
week, please welcome B. C. Brown to chat about her new book, A Touch Of Madness. She will be talking about her books, short stories and website.  According to one reviewer, “Every time you think you’ve got the plot figured out, the author throws you another curve ball!” http://www.blogtalkradio.com/rithebard/2012/11/13/chatting-with-sherri .

Please listen to this wonderful interview with character actress Dee Baldus on Chatting With Sherri, she talked about her passions for acting and animals. She also talked about creating her characters in her new movie, Milo and the tv series, Monk! Also Dee chatted about her passion for animals and helping our troops as the founder of the wonderful organization, Paws For Troops! http://www.blogtalkradio.com/rithebard/2012/11/06/chatting-with-sherri .  You can find out more about at her website; http://www.deebaldus.com/  And more about Paws for Troops at; http://www.pawsfortroops.com/. It is a wonderful cause that I am happy to help in any way.

My guest interview this month is with the talented Rebecca Scarberry who published Messages From Henry in June 2012. It has received many positive reviews and continues to do so. It was written for young adults but adults are finding it very entertaining.

Rebecca was born in southern California. She retired at the age of forty-five as a claims analyst for a HMO in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Rebecca lives on a very secluded non-working farm in the Boston Mountains of Arkansas with her husband and seven cats. She has devoted the last year and a half to her love of writing fiction. She is now expanding a fictional short story, Rag Doll. Rag Doll is a crime adventure.

What was the first book you remember loving? Do you still own it?

The first book I was given as a child and loved was one my oldest sister (eleven years older) gave to me.  It was a Little Golden Book entitled  Prayers for Children. It was published in 1942. No, I don’t have it today. Wish I did, it’s somewhat valuable.

What kind of books do you like to read? Do those books have an effect on your writing?

I like to read books with a lot of description as to scenery, what the weather is like, scents, and sounds, and forensics. When I read books containing these things, it helps me immensely with my writing.

Do you remember what the first book was that touched you deeply?

Yes, The Adventures of Lassie by Mary Reed. As far back as I can remember, we always had pets in our home. I still love reading stories involving animals.

Is there an era of writing that affects you? 1920’s, 1800’s, so forth?

I enjoy reading the most current books. The classics are great, but I’ve found that the independently published authors of today are writing very exciting, unique ebooks. Since I started reading ebooks over one year ago, I now enjoy reading fantasy, horror, and paranormal. I never used to read books like this.

Where do you like to write? Is there a favorite nook or corner?

Yes, I do have a favorite place where I like to write. In order for me to resist the temptation to check my email or Twitter, I print a copy of my work in progress and sit by the waterfall on my farm to edit. It’s very relaxing and I nearly always have at least three cats by my side.

Do you prefer one genre to another?

The only genre I don’t care for is science fiction and erotica. I say erotica because I haven’t read any that I’ve liked. I’m certain there are good books written in this genre. It’s very popular. I simply haven’t come across the right book yet, I guess. To be more specific in answering your question, no there isn’t one genre I prefer over another.

Do you like the feel of a book in your hands or do you prefer an electronic device?

I prefer to curl up in bed with my Kindle Fire.  The one time when I enjoy holding a paperback is when an author, I’ve met online, mails one of their signed paperbacks to me. That’s very special!
Can you tell us about what you’re working on now?

I’ve expanded another one of my short stories, Rag Doll. It’s an adult story about a crime that takes place in a diamond park in Arkansas. This book is turning out to be exciting and spicy. I’ve never written anything like it before. I have been reading ebooks such as Murder in Room 305 by Gary C. King and This Time Forever by Patricia Paris to help me with this story. Those two books are very good and helped immensely.  Rag Doll is now with a professional editor.

Thank you Rebecca for that wonderful interview, here is where you can read some of her stories.

Rebecca’s blog is:  http://scarberryfieldsforever.blogspot.com/

The US link to my published novella is: http://t.co/7PcgmjY
My kitty Xena has been busy at the computer again. She has written another ditty entitled; Xena, The Mighty Rug Mover http://wp.me/p2Ljyb-b via @wordpressdotcom
Don’t forget to check out my one on one classes on, The Learning Annex http://shar.es/GtaJH 
And please check out my novels Fantasy Time Inc. and Murder Inc. at; Amazon’s Sherri Rabinowitz Page http://www.amazon.com/Sherri-Rabinowitz/e/B004YTKO86/ref=cm_sw_r_tw_nu_7dvNqb6606E84 … via @amazon
Till next Time…
Leave a comment

Filed under acting, creative, entertainment, writing

Leave a Reply

