New Joys on the Horizon

As my last blog said these are exciting times ahead and there are so many things that are happening that I can’t talk about that I am about to bust open.

One of the first things was my special class last week. I had a conference call teaching people how to write their memoirs. It was so exciting! I received the homework already and sent them out. The call was recorded but the echo was so bad that people who wanted to hear it said it was just too difficult to listen to the recording. So I will do another class in a couple of months, stay tuned.

Starting today my Learning Annex class is available on a one to one basis. Here is the link; https://learningannex.com/listings/What-is-your-Life-Story/schedule_time . I am really looking forward to talking to students and helping them to break through that wall of memory. It is so exciting!

This week I will have the pleasure of speaking to the  unique thriller writing team of Gary Williams and Vicky Knerly. We will be talking about their new edge of your seat thriller, Indisputable Proof! I am so looking forward to it, so please join me to hear all about this exciting book! http://t.co/Tm1RSfg1

Last week I had a wonderful chat with Diana Wilder about her new book Morningtide and her current book the Pharaoh’s Son. It was a fun and informational discussion.  http://t.co/Tm1RSfg1 I think you will enjoy it.

To get a taste of it please read this lovely pre-interview;

 What was the first book you remember loving? Do you still own it?
The first book that I remember reading to myself was MISTY OF CHINCOTEAGUE by Marguerite Henry.  Like most kids my age (3rd grade) I was crazy about horses and had most of her books.  With all the moves my family had, I don’t have it any more, but I still remember the paintings by Wesley Dennis in there.
 What kind of books do you like to read? Do those books have an affect on your own writing?
I like adventure stories or pensive tales.  As a people-watcher, I like getting into a character’s personality and enjoying his or her ups and downs, and the way their conflicts are resolved.  I tend to get pretty involved…  One time, reading WATERSHIP DOWN by Richard Adams, I got so involved with everything that was happening – the battles, the courage, the love story, the suspense – it took me a moment to realize that I was reading about rabbits!
 Do you remember what is the first book that touched you deeply?
My fourth grade teacher read us CHARLOTTE’S WEB and I remember how sad I was when she died – and then when her eggs hatched and it was a sort of having her back again.
 Is there an era of writing that affects you? 1920, 1800’s so forth?
Not really.  Good stories are good stories.  Though some of the rather mannered offerings of any era – minimalist or too wordy – tend to make me a little weary.
 Where do you like to write? Is there a favorite nook or corner?
I like to write looking out the window, when possible.  I have, however, done a lot of writing while monitoring a dressing room (part time job) writing on a piece of paper towel.  I have also gotten a lot done sitting in a mall with my laptop on my lap, picking away.  Ideally, though, a view, maybe a pleasant breeze…
 Do you prefer one genre to another?
I prefer straight fiction with a historical bent.  People are fun to work with and history is fascinating.
 Do you like the feel of a book in your hands or do prefer an electronic devises?
Well…  I really like the feel and smell of a book.  There is no comparison.  However, I’m one of those who has a horror of being caught somewhere with nothing good to read, so I tend to carry twenty pounds of books with me.  A friend pointed out that I could carry fifty books in an e-reader, and I concluded that I could tolerate an e-reader if it meant that I wasn’t going to dislocate my shoulder trying to carry ten books with me.
 Can you tell us about what your working on now?
I’m finishing a novel with the title MOURNINGTIDE that is a sort of sequel to THE CITY OF REFUGE.  It takes place eighteen years after CITY and follows three characters as they deal with the death of a son and brother.  The story is complicated by the fact that the father is a king, and he has found that a broken heart is a terrible thing to bear publicly.  In the course of the story he remembers that the king is a man, too.  There is a quiet love story and some very funny moments.  I  started it November of last year and have enjoyed watching it grow and develop.  If all goes well it should be ready by the first of next year.
To find out more about Diana, please check out her website; http://dianawilderauthor.com
Leave a comment

Filed under creative, entertainment, writing

Leave a Reply

